A few weeks ago we decided to take the jump to homeschool my three girls.  This blog will serve as a place where I post information about my travels with this, and where people can comment or provide advice.  My girls would be 4th grade and 1st grade (we also have a 3 year old, but she will go to Montessori this year) – my wife stays home during the day, so will have most of the direct work, but I need to do all the organizing.

For math, we will be using Khan Academy, which the girls already have accounts on – although I need to spend some time on it to make sure that I know where they are going with it.

For history, I am exploring the reading list and classes available at http://www.heritage-history.com which so far appears interesting.

I am thinking about the other subjects and will post on them as I get there.

Now, for some groundrules in the comments.  I am treating this as my front porch – language or attitude that will get you asked to leave my front porch will get your comment deleted – with or without mention.  I am Roman Catholic – any disparaging comments about religion or Catholicism will get deleted and most likely the user banned (based on how obvious it is).  The purpose of this blog is only to discuss homeschooling and sources for learning – not to debate religion or politics.

Any posts or emails sent to me I will use in any way I see fit (including posting them to make fun of them – I got that idea from ratbags dot com – an Australian guy – I don’t always agree but he has a funny way of dealing with people trying to bully him.)

And now I need to go to work…  Hopefully more in the future.

